Five Cloris Awards to ISTC

Iowa Stage Theatre Company was honored with 25 Cloris Award nominations for excellence in local theater, with six of our seven shows recognized in 15 out of 20 possible categories.

The Cloris Awards, now in their fifth year, were hosted at Hoyt Sherman Place, downtown Des Moines, hosted by Katy Merriman (ISTC emeritus company member; Artistic Director, Des Moines Community Playhouse) and Tiffany Johnson (Artistic Director, Pyramid Theatre Company).

Iowa Stage Theatre Company's work was recognized with five awards! Congratulations to all the artists whose work delighted central Iowa audiences last season!

Best Actress in a Featured Role, Musical: Erin Horst, "Fun Home"

Best Music Direction: Adam Yankowy, "Fun Home"

Best Actor in a Lead Role, Play: Sid Juwarker, "Disgraced"

Best Costume & Makeup Design: Susanna Douthit, "The Lion in Winter"

Special Recognition: Kim Haymes, "It's a Wonderful Life: The Radio Play" Foley Work Performance

For a full list of Cloris Award recipients from the 2019 ceremony, click here.

Congratulations to all who were nominated! Be sure to help us recruit next year's Cloris Award recipients; sponsor an artist today!


Recent Posts

See All

Why do Tuesdays with Morrie

Below is the Artistic Director's note from the program for Tuesdays with Morrie. In it he discusses why ISTC chose to do this show, and what it means for the age of corona. "The hardest thing I’ve eve

Subscribe for all the latest news, shows, and events.


Heidi Mason



Iowa Stage Theatre Company

PO Box 13466

Des Moines, IA 50310


Matthew McIver



Laura Jordan

Communications Director

Logo & Branding Guidelines

© 2020 by Iowa Stage Theatre Company   |   Privacy Policy
Season Sponsors